I don’t think I can deduct mileage

Since I got my new job in Indy, I’ve been driving hundreds of miles through the course of a week.  I thought these miles might be tax-deductible, perhaps after some threshold, so I’d been keeping records of these miles.  Today I finally looked it up in Publication 463, Travel, Entertainment, Gift, and Car Expenses: For use in preparing 2008 Returns.  Here’s the top part of Figure B from that publication:commuting-what-is-deductible

From the part I circled, I gather that the mileage from my regular commute is not tax-deductible.

This entry was posted in Indiana law. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

