Gotta lead

I’ve gotta lead
I’m the husband
Marriage a picture of Christ and the church
I represent Christ in this marriage
Fallibly
Sinfully
Brokenly
Not optionally
Can’t despise my calling
I can’t say “whatever you want”
I can’t say “whatever I want”
Must point my wife, kids, self to the Holy One
Gently
Sacrificially
With perseverance
With hope
Whether blessed or cursed by all
No room for self-righteousness
No room for coldness
No, with warmth
With caring concern
With commitment
With quietness
With faith
Open to wisdom
Open to correction
Ready to repent, to turn from sin
Seeking out the paths of righteousness
For myself and my family
Serving
Loving
To the death
For the glory of God
And the beauty of my bride
Amen!

This entry was posted in authority. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

