Disputable matter?

Update 8/17/2012: I do not think my arguments in this post are strong enough to overcome my arguments in the other two posts on head coverings. I think I was hasty here in concluding that “head coverings must be a disputable matter.” Are the Scriptures unclear?

Head coverings are not the only thing I ever think about.

I don’t want to write about them today, but I need to leave the issue in a different state than I’ve currently left it.

I think that head coverings must be a disputable matter.

The specific practice is only mentioned once, while the principles it is a symbol of are mentioned multiple places in Scripture.

And here’s a big one: If as I’ve argued the practice (and not just the principle it is a symbol of) flows from the creation order, how is it that the practice is not seen in Scripture before 1 Corinthians? This raises a serious question in my mind as to whether head coverings can be an ordinance rooted in the creation order.

On the other hand, in our day I don’t know of any other symbol that would replace coverings. In our day, the very idea of male headship raises anger, incredulity, and eyebrows. It seems to me that the symbol of covering could be helpful, in our day perhaps more than in previous ages, because of the confusion and rebellion regarding God’s order that fills the very air we breathe. But this would not be a conscience binding issue, unlike how I spoke before.

In the past I had averted my eyes from 1 Corinthians 11:2-16 because I was afraid I knew what it meant; and I resisted it, because I was ashamed of it.

Lately I determined not to be ashamed of God’s Word, even if I should look like a fool or a boor or a cave-man Neanderthal.

I didn’t want to come to 1 Corinthians in our family Bible reading and have Tabitha say, “Why don’t we do this?” and have the answer be, “Because we’re disobeying the Lord, honey.”

Mary Ann and I will need to figure this out together.

I would like to thank those who have had conversations with me about this and other matters of the Word — my dear Mary Ann, my best friend and most trusted advisor, foremost among them.

Behold, how good and how pleasant it is
For brothers to dwell together in unity!

This entry was posted in authority. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

