Let them call

Now He was telling them a parable to show that at all times they ought to pray and not to lose heart, saying, “In a certain city there was a judge who did not fear God and did not respect man. There was a widow in that city, and she kept coming to him, saying, ‘ Give me legal protection from my opponent.’ For a while he was unwilling; but afterward he said to himself, ‘Even though I do not fear God nor respect man, yet because this widow bothers me, I will give her legal protection, otherwise by continually coming she will wear me out.'” And the Lord said, “Hear what the unrighteous judge said; now, will not God bring about justice for His elect who cry to Him day and night, and will He delay long over them? I tell you that He will bring about justice for them quickly. However, when the Son of Man comes, will He find faith on the earth?”
– Luke 18:1-8 NASB

My kids don’t just call and then wait for me to come. They keep calling. At bedtime when I’m spending time in the boys’ room, sometimes Tabitha calls from her room; or when I’m in Tabitha’s room Benjamin will call (and keep calling!) until I answer.

I have been trying to teach the kids to wait after they call, so lately I’ve regularly been saying things like, “Stop calling — I’ll be there when I can.”

After several days of this, I began to be aware of what I was saying: “Stop calling.”

Thank God that He never tells us to stop calling!

Marcus’s message Sunday night clinched it. He mentioned in passing how his girls ask him (and keep on asking) with expectation, and I knew that I needed to change my practice.

Last night I read Luke 18:1-8 to the family at the supper table and I told the kids that they have been more righteous than I, because their calling out confidently for Daddy is a picture of the kind of faith the Son of Man will look for when He comes — and I will no longer forbid them.

Update: Actually sometimes they do need to stop clamoring. But then it’s “Be patient, and wait for Daddy.”

This entry was posted in prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

